Amore Mio

AMORE MIO RISTORANTE – ARUBA

IMG_0095

If anyone knows anything about me, I am a complete and total pizza snob. And, I completely disagree with the statement “pizza is like sex, even if its bad, its still good”.  No way!  I would easily pass on either in anticipation of something worthwhile. But that’s just me.  Luckily, I did find some of the best pizza around.  Not just in Aruba, but nearly anywhere.  If this is not a sight of beauty above, I don’t know what is in the culinary world.

IMG_0105

The irony is that the place is owned by by people I had the pleasure I had photographing at a wedding.  To the left you see me with the beautiful (and expecting bride, now wife and mother to be, best man and groomsman).  So now I am conflicted with emotions.  This pizza really needs to be good, and I really hope its noteworthy, and it all comes together.  Its fantastic pizza, some of the best I ever had, and the people, staff and friends I dined with makes for an unforgettable experience.

IMG_0092As it turns out, it was Liria’s birthday, one of my friends from Venezuela.  So, we start off with a round of Caipirinhas (the lady’s choice) and some shrimp with onion, extra virgin olive oil and onion.  While I am glad they brought garlic bread for dipping, 2 shrimp for 3 people was disappointing, no matter how large they were (they were pretty big), but if the server sees three of us, perhaps bring out 3 smaller shrimp rather than 2 jumbo?  Just my logic. The oven roasted shrimp with red onion, extra virgin olive oil and herbs is really delicious.  When serving any appetizer, I think its faux pas to not serve at least 3-4.  If it costs or math does not add up, use smaller shrimp or servings, but at least offer more bites, even if they are smaller.

IMG_0094

So, now the pizza comes.  Look at these two beauties!  Oh, you were thinking the lovely ladies? Those two above modeling the pizzas are Liria and Yinelba, two very beautiful, very friendly, very fun Venezuelan woman.

IMG_0097What you see are the Margahrita and the Quattro Formaggio pizzas.  Since was Liria’s birthday, and she wanted pizza, and who am I do deny her the finest on the island? Since I knew the owners and staff, if they tell me 1 pizza is not enough for 3, I simply order another, no questions asked.  I am more traditional when it comes to pizza, just the simple red, white & green, like the Italian flag (tomato, mozzarella, and basil), however, the birthday girl and the hostess (the bride I photographed), and my friend Yine, all thought the Quattro Formaggi was the pizza to get.  As much as I love gorgonzola (Italian Blue Cheese), its often strong, good on salad, pizza, not sure.  But all turned out fine.  They loved the 4 cheese, I loved the traditional, we all were stuffed, happy and had a great culinary treat.

IMG_0098 I decided on another drink, a Mojito.  After all, its my last night in Aruba, and they seem to make the best mojitos I’ve ever had, anywhere.

And, of course, what would be a birthday without embarrassing the guest of honor with the staff bringing dessert, with a candle and cherry and singing happy birthday for every one in public to acknowledge?!?

IMG_0101

Now, I have to say, my cousin Massimo from Sicily proclaimed Kesté Pizzeria in the West Village of Manhattan, NY as the closest you can get outside of Italy.  I think if he had dined here, he would agree, its about as close as you are going to get outside of Italy. While it might be hard to judge by sight, for anyone that knows something by heart, you can easily see, this is some of the best pizza you will ever encounter.

Amore Mio Pizzeria / Phone +297 586 7794
J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 348
Palm Beach
(Across from the Radisson Hotel)

Leave a Reply

