Costanera

COSTANERA PERUVIAN CUISINE – MONTCLAIR NJ

Image

So its my 2nd visit to Costanera in Montclair, New Jersey.  It had been 6 months since my first visit and I’ve been dying to get back there soon.  An associate of mine were checking out office space in the area and thought this would be a good choice.  The place was empty, but it was the hottest day of September and the air conditioning was pumping, so it was all good.

Since it was so hot and humid, we decided to order from the lunch menu.  Lunch menus are usually light, and good for a day like this.  All lunch specials come with a side and a cup of soup. Soup? Well, ok, we can sweat it out.

Image

Aguadito de Pollo is Peruvian chicken soup, I think every ethnic group has a variation of this recipe, this one, like all, include chicken, broth, vegetables and instead of rice, noodles, pasta, or matzah balls, this one has quinoa. Nothing to get excited about, but the quinoa is quite fashionable these days, and its interesting to have this as a variation in chicken soup, and the cilantro gives it a good kick of flavor.

poboy

Quinoa-Crusted Oyster “Po’ Boy” which is Crispy Blue Point Oysters, with salsa golf and salsa criolla on baguette.  I love Yuca, especially when they are fried, I usually like them a bit darker and more well done, these were pretty bland.  I would have preferred that they were drizzled with more olive oil and garlic, perhaps even more salt, but they were still good.  The crunch of the oysters crusted with quinoa was a unique taste/mouthfeel.  Tons of thin sliced red onion, but its all good.

cobb

My friend decides to get the Costanera Cobb Salad which consisted oof field greens, tomato, onions, egg, crispy bacon, avocado, blue cheese, grilled chicken breast, dressed with a lime citronette.  It looked good, and he seemed to enjoy it, I am just not sure if this is what they would really serve in Peru.  Seemed more like what they might serve at a local chain.  He did get the tostones on the side, but he felt the same way I did, they were kind of bland.  I tasted one too.  They were lacking something, even the nasty fried grease taste they were cooked in.

tostonesLunch with 2 soft drinks ran us $35 with tip.  Not so bad, but I think this place is best visited for dinner. You might spend twice as much for the experience, but you will get 3x as much in the pleasure of the food.

I like this place, its on my list of go-to spots, and thank goodness they play authentic music which always gets you in the mood.  No elevator or worse yet, 1980s elevator music.

Costanera Cucina Peruana
www.costaneranj.com (973-337-8289)

511 Bloomfield Avenue  Montclair NJ 07042

Leave a comment