Jacob’s Ghost

JACOB’s GHOST

Ghost_2462

Jacob’s Ghost is a white(ish) bourbon produced by Jim Beam. The spirit is clear but slightly colored by the white oak barrels its stored in for at least 1 year.

When I first saw this, I wondered what it was all about.  If it was anything like Jack Daniels Honey, I as sure to hate it.  When I saw the price fall over the months incrementally, I thought, either it was not a seller but a sleeper, or something that was just a failed marketing ploy like Honey Jack.  However, I took a risk.  Being a born again bourbon fan, how can I now taste a bourbon in all its stages, 1 year, 5 years, 10 years, I decided to take a risk and I was happy I did.  It allowed me to taste bourbon in its earliest stages since I already knew it in its latter form of 5 and 10 year aged batches.

This is different, it has no artificial additives, its just a spirit that has not been aged long enough, but if you close your eyes, you can clearly know that what you are drinking is bourbon, even though its labelled as “White Whiskey”.  It tastes like bourbon, but cannot be called bourbon by law since its only aged less than 2 years.  The flavor is similar, just not as defined in the oak, vanilla and heavier flavors.  Its still good, and at $22/bottle on sale, it makes a damn fine Old Fashioned Cocktail.  The heavier aspects of bourbon step aside and allow the bitters and other elements step up and it results in a fantastic balance loaded with mild flavors.

Its 80proof, which is on the lower end of the spectrum for bourbon, but still the norm for most spirits of hard alcohol.  I have to classify this as a find.  If you find it and can find it for under $22/bottle, then buy it, and use it in cocktails like Mint Julep or Old Fashioned or even a Manhattan, its a great value since the marketing of this product seemingly failed and serious bourbon drinkers are not buying it.  But, I do encourage them to try it.  They will be pleasantly surprised.  I know there are a lot of ad/marketing gimmicks out there, and this might have been one of them, but at the end of the day, bourbon in any form is glorious, especially at this price.

Leave a Reply

