Nemo: Snowed In

NEMO: SNOWED IN

Not sure why they called this winter blizzard storm Nemo — its a cute animated fish from what I know… maybe all the other names were taken, but its just odd to name a winter blizzard after a warm, friendly, salt water tropical fish.

69253_10151466218215132_1835345395_nSo, here is a snow figure, AKA a ‘snowman’ in the form of Nemo, after which the storm was named.  I copied this off the “Jersey Girls’ blog, and I have to say, I love it! Very clever, very creative, not sure how they got the orange on there, or what dye they used, but its very original.

Here is my snow figure… its a Dark & Stormy.  Its Ginger Beer (non-alcoholic) and is produced in Jamaica.  On top of that, you float some Caribbean dark rum like Gosslings or Cruzan, and you have a “Dark & Stormy”.   As you see, I had to clear off some of the snow from the picnic table to get a good scenic photo.  This was much earlier this evening when there was only about 7″ of snowfall.  Now there is at least double that.

photo copy 2

A lot of people stress over snow storms, they rush out to the supermarket, head out to the gas station, but if anything, other than being brought up in the 1970s with parents who were raised during the depression, has prepared me for this “new” world, its been the past couple of weather crisis like Hurricane Irene or Superstorm Sandy. Since then, especially in the winter, I keep my car gas tank 3/4 to full. Yea, I know that brings my milage down.  However, I like knowing that if my power, heating and electricity go out, I can get into my car, turn on the heated seats and blast the hot air while I charge my iPad and iPhone through the cigarette lighter and liven to the radio while keeping warm.

So far this evening, I have been lucky.  I had some frozen nice fish filets in the freezer with a side of fresh steamed rice and broccoli.  People think its crazy to freeze bread, but with that, some cheese, olives, cured salumi even some canned soup, I can fare just fine for a few days snowed in.  With the pasta I always keep on hand, I can make any sauce with canned tomatoes or garlic and/or olive oil and I can even break it up and add it to a pot to make soup, and of course canned beans.

The key to survival in any storm is pretty simple and economic.   A can of beans, a package of pasta, a can of broth, some rice, and/or frozen or canned vegetables can pretty create any meal you really want for a small family of 4, and, it should cost probably less than $10.  I always keep plenty of beverages like wine, beer, sparkling water and soda on hand, so thats not a problem either. I also keep tea, which I can make with hot water from my water cooler, and my coffee of choice is espresso, so no milk or cream necessary, though I try to keep that on hand, along with butter, eggs, etc.

Seems like a lot, but the truth is, you don’t need anything perishable in order NOT to perish during a crisis.  Again, canned foods like beans, vegetables, soup, tuna, and other such items, and things you can easily cook like rice and pasta to add to these other things, is all you really need.  Not hard to store, they last forever, and they cost less than a gallon of gasoline.  I know most of us live in a urban area, where we can literally walk to a convenience store and/or order from a local fast food place, but its comforting to know, that we don’t have to be like the rest of the idiots and rush out for gas and groceries and kill each other at the first threat of a flake of snow falling.

In rural regions, they certainly know better.  They are usually miles away from anything and the snowfall is 10 times more than what we see here in the urban areas, so they are fully stocked (as we should be), they can go months without shopping for food, but for us, who can’t go more than a week, we need to consider buying some canned pantry items that last years when we forget that when a storm comes we didn’t prepare.  My local supermarket (Shop-Rite) does a “Can Can” sale every February.  These cans go for a dollar or less, so 5 cans of beans or tomatoes are only $5, I buy them all.  If I don’t use them within a year, I donate them to the church or local food bank.  The fact is, even though they might expire in 1-3 years, they are probably good for 5+ years, so buy them, and if you don’t use them, don’t worry, donate them.  The truth is, expirations are an arbitrary thing.  If you have a can of anything never exposed or opened, its still good, especially if you are cooking the contents again and adding to fresh cooked rice or pasta.

Stock up, and let confidence overwhelm a stressful situation when a storm arrives.  You are good, you are save, you have food, you have water, you have everything you need if you don’t have to leave the house for a few days and/or if the supermarkets are void of items you think you need to survive.  You have it all right there in your kitchen cabinet, even the bread in the freezer if needed.

Leave a Reply

