Tainted Love

Vodka Lovers, be aware, I read a report where Russia was exporting vodka that was not only not pure, but seriously compromised to the point where drinking it might cause immediate health problems.  Let’s face it, drinking vodka straight is not healthy, but what if it was tainted, contained unknown chemicals and/or contaminants, this would make you reconsider that over the crystal clear bottle of domestic Smirnoff, no?

So, I did swear off imported Russian vodka — the economy has gotten so rough that once sterling companies and distributors you once trusted, now need to be held under closer scrutiny.   So, I went to one of my trusted and local liquor stores for tonight’s wine and I saw some very interesting, even pretty 750ml bottle of Russian vodka in a square bottle and a round crown top typical of their architecture.   They were $9 each, or buy 3 and get them for $7 each. Naturally I bought 3 hoping to give as impressive gifts, until I got home.  One shaken and held up to the sunlight, you can see particles floating around in them.  Mostly clear (which worried me more, are they thin glass slivers?)  It looked like pulp, or whatever.  No good.  2 bottles were obviously tainted the 3rd bottle not so much, however, I would not drink this nor offer it to a friend as a gift, I will be returning all 3 bottles and/or disputing the charges if they refuse.  If they give me a store credit, that is fine, but no way would I drink this or give to a friend as a gift.  Even if harmless, who wants to see obvious particles floating around in their cocktail??

Leave a Reply

