Spring is in the Air!

Spring is in the air, and here is the proof!

This photo of a male cardinal was taken with a Canon Elph SD780 IS (a link is at the end of this post).  While some of you might be less than impressed with the photo quality, keep in mind this was taken from about 30′ away with a digital zoom as far in as I could (yes I know they say you shouldn’t use that feature, but that’s as close as I could get without a $1,000 lens and didn’t have time to dig out my Canon SLR Rebel XSt), so out from my pocket I got my Elph which is smaller than an iPhone and easily fits in your top pocket (slightly thicker but 2/3 the size).

For hobby purposes, I love my Canon Elph, in fact, I even ditched my Sony TG1 in Brazil and used the Elph for photo and video with complete satisfaction.  I think it only cost me about $200 about a year ago. Its 12.1 megapixels and shoots high definition video.  An 8gb SD card will hold about 43 minutes of video in an .mov file which you can drop into a professional application like Final Cut Pro with no problems, or just upload to the web.  At first I thought it only captured about 24 minutes, because it stops recording after that amount of time (I don’t know why), but it will hold over 40 minutes of video.

The audio is pretty good and while the camera is not perfect, its probably the best pocket still and video camera I’ve ever owned at 1/2 or 1/4 the price of the cameras I owned before.  This one camera for $200 replaced having to carry a still and video camera around on vacation.  The only thing that could make this more perfect is if it could be made waterproof like the Sanyo Xacti.  If I could make a 2nd wish, it would be that it would shoot in 60fps instead of 30fps.

If you are technologically “challenged” – don’t be discouraged, this is your answer. If anything else, this might seem like a fan letter (and it is, and no, I don’t work for Canon) but more importantly, it will hopefully encourage you to use technology like this for everything from a simple kid’s birthday or any video moment worth capturing.  What makes the world so interesting these days is the fact that such small devices capture such brilliant photos, video and memories from all parts of the globe (and above it as you will see below).   If you want a camera that will capture life’s more precious and special moments, you won’t get a better bang for your buck than this camera.

Here are some examples, with NO filter effects added:

Outdoors Night Time: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jkcqTN6ydro
Indoors Night Time: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pswFaae2yks
Outdoors Day Time:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_wv9KRyvz2c
From an Airplane above the clouds: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4JM8W8Cp-Uw

Information about the camera:

http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controller?act=ModelInfoAct&fcategoryid=145&modelid=18183

Leave a Reply

